Omibus Society

North Western & Yorkshire

Don Akrigg
Branch Chairman

North Western & Yorkshire Region

COntact Us

To book a place at a Winter meeting please contact Geoff Cook

Bulletin Collator: (Interim Paul Wilkinson) (items for the Branch bulletin)

Distribution Officer: Martin Yates (missing Bulletins / printing errors)

Membership Secretary: (changes of address)

General enquiries
should be addressed to: 
NWY Secretary: Paul Wilkinson

Chairman: Don Akrigg

Vice Chairman: Geoff Cook

No email connections:

Treasurer: Paul Wigan
Committee Members: Kelvyn Waites, Graham Crawshaw

Welcome to the North Western & Yorkshire Branch

The Branch was formed in 1936 by a group of enthusiasts based in Warrington. The Branch covers the counties of Cumbria, Lancashire, Merseyside, Greater Manchester, Cheshire, the High Peak of Derbyshire, (Isle of Man), North Wales together with East, West, South and North Yorkshire.

We have a Branch committee which is elected annually at the Annual General Meeting in March. The committee organises events each month throughout the year, arranges for the monthly Branch Bulletin to be collated and manages the Branch finances.

During the summer, we arrange visits and study tours to look at operations across the area; and in the winter, for our indoor meetings, we invite speakers both from the industry and also from our own ranks to give presentations on a range of subjects, both topical and historical.

Pictured above are North Western and Yorkshire Branch members and Midlands Branch members on the joint visit to Operators in North West Greater Manchester. Using privately owned MCTD 3706 as transport, seen here on 20th May 2023, at Stagecoach's Wigan depot with Enviro 400 19259 and several Megabus coaches. Wigan, Bolton and parts of Salford, will move into the TfGM Franchise scheme as Area A - from 24 September 2023. 

Comprehensive coverage of service developments is provided by our monthly Bulletin, compiled by local correspondents from information provided both from official sources and from members’ observations. For a sample copy click here

In addition, the Branch offers a free weekly email Digest of up-to-the minute news from the Branch area and beyond. The Secretary can arrange for this to drop into your email box usually each Friday morning. Click here for a sample copy. 

Obviously, the success of any organisation such as ours is dependent on the active involvement of its members, and this Society and its Branches are no exception. I look forward to enjoying your support of our activities. Please feel free to get in touch with me if in turn I can provide you with any further information on the Society and its activities.

The members of the Branch Committee are:

  • Don Akrigg (Chairperson)
  • Geoff Cook (Vice Chairperson)
  • Paul Wilkinson (Secretary)
  • Paul Wigan (Treasurer)
  • John Harrison (Membership Secretary)
  • Paul Wilkinson (Interim Bulletin Collator)
  • Martin Yates (Distribution Officer)
  • Geoff Cook (Winter meetings organiser)
  • Vacant (Summer visits organiser)
  • Kelvyn Waites, Graham Crawshaw (Committee members) 


Our Officers